Jamie Rhodes: A Castle in England

Brought out in 2017, A Castle in England by Jamie Rhodes is a historical graphic novel telling the story of Scotenie Castle.

Sometimes I enjoy one off graphic novels because it gives me a quick hit of “Finishing Dopamine” as I call it. One of those – I finished a thing! Woo. So, this is one of those Finishing Dopamine books for me where I read it in about twenty minutes – if that. It is pretty short.

I can’t honestly suggest it. Realistically, the comic panels are set out okay, but the stories in it – there are a few short stories all compiled together – the short stories needed more room to be fleshed out. And…not meaning to be cruel, but the art styles were not always on point. The dialogue also fails in certain stories to help convey what is occurring.

It did help at the end of each short story that there were sections that described the history surrounding the story. A couple of the stories honestly needed that to make the image work and chopped dialogue make sense.

I rented this from my local library and have no interest in buying a copy for my shelf. I’m not quite sure I would suggest anyone go out of their way to read it unless they’re interested in castle history as a whole and want to read a graphic novel for kicks and giggles.


Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started